15 Minute Green Bean Risotto In Three Easy Steps.

To celebrate National Vegetarian Week, knowing how challenging  it can be for vegetarians to find diverse and tasty food to cook at home, that’s ready in fifteen minutes, I’ve decided to share some recipes.  Most of the things I cook are tried and tested favourites, that I make week in, week out, but some of them, like tonight’s, are spur of the moment experiments. First up, a delicious green bean risotto that’s ready in three steps, in fifteen minutes tops.

I normally make mushroom risotto, and I have to say, I’m pretty bloody good at it.  The reason I make it well is that I love it so much, cooking mushroom risotto is a passionate experience for me.  When you cook something you love, you add that little bit of a special spark.  However, I didn’t have any mushrooms in the house tonight (which very rarely happens), so I decided to use what I had in, which turned out to be green beans and Arborio rice.

INGREDIENTS:

  • Arborio Rice (About two handfuls per person/serving).
  • Green Beans
  • Tablespoon of Butter
  • Garlic (I used garlic purée)
  • Mustard (Dijon has a nice tang)
  • Sea Salt and Pepper
  • Stock Cubes (Two per person)
  • Boiling Water
  • Cheese (I favour cheddar)
  • Three glasses of white wine (optional, but it makes a big difference).
STEP ONE: Beans
Into a hot pan, stir the following: Tablespoon of butter, tablespoon of garlic purée, tablespoon of mustard, salt and pepper.
Stir the green beans into the mixture, which will come together into a paste.  Sizzle the beans until they are soft. I used them straight from the freezer, but thawed out a little bit, for maybe half an hour.
STEP TWO: Rice
Tip: The rice you need is called Arborio, it’s an Italian risotto rice.  Don’t try and use Basmati or pillau, it won’t work.
Once the beans are cooked and soft, stir the rice into the mixture.  It’s vitally important that every grain of rice is coated in the butter, otherwise it won’t cook properly.
Once you’ve coated the rice, you can pour the wine in, but this is optional.  While it isn’t vital, it does give the risotto a more delicate, shaper flavour.  After the wine, or missing it out, it’s time to add the stock.
Put the stock cubes in a jug or pan and pour the boiling water over. I find OXO vegetable, or Knorr are great, but the best is Bouillon.
Make sure the stock cubes are dissolved by giving it a good stir.  Once it’s ready, cover the rice and beans with stock.
Allow the rice to absorb the stock, while simmering.  Keep stirring, but stop and allow it to bubble up by itself every couple of minutes.  Once the stock has been absorbed, pour some more in.
You’re waiting for the rice to be completely soft.  Keep testing a piece, if there’s still a little bite in the middle, it isn’t ready.
This should take about ten minutes, perhaps a little more.  The main thing is to do it right.  Just keep stirring and keep having a little taste of the rice, until it’s soft.
STEP THREE: CHEESE
Once the rice is cooked, add the cheese.  You can either add it into the pan, so that it melts into the rice and becomes gooey and golden, or you can just add it into the bowl when you serve, so that it keeps a bite to it.  Either way is good.
I favour a trusty Cheddar, possibly because I’m not very adventurous when it comes to cheese.  You can use whatever you like.
I don’t grate it, just crumble it in, so that it stays in lovely, delicious, oozing blobs.
And that’s it! All you have to do now is dish it up and enjoy the fruits of your hard work (well, not very hard).
You can serve it with salad, roast potatoes, bread, garlic bread, anything you like.  Even just on its own, it’s delicious.  I enjoy mine best in the garden, in the sun.
I hope you enjoy cooking and eating this dish.  If you give it a go, please do let me know how you get on.
Happy Cooking, and HAPPY NATIONAL VEGETARIAN WEEK!
 
 

12 Responses to “15 Minute Green Bean Risotto In Three Easy Steps.”


  1. 1 The Green Beet May 26, 2011 at 12:18 am

    What a wonderful contribution to National Vegetarian Week. I love risotto and tend to add a little white wine as well to give the Arborio rice a little pizazz.

  2. 3 Dani May 26, 2011 at 12:22 am

    Oh my, this sounds wonderful. I’m actually vegan, but this could easily be made vegan. I’ll be giving this a try fo’ sho’!

    • 4 Vikki Littlemore May 26, 2011 at 12:28 am

      Yes, definitely. Do let me know how you get on! Thanks so much for the comment, I really appreciate it.

  3. 5 Chubby Vegan May 26, 2011 at 2:56 am

    Hey there! Sounds good and definately made vegan pretty easily. You may want to clarify using vegetable stock in this, to make sure it really is vegetarian.

    Thanks and good luck!

    • 6 Vikki Littlemore May 26, 2011 at 1:17 pm

      Thank your for you comment, I appreciate it. Yes, I always check the stock is vegetarian. There are some interesting comments from The Dirty Vegan, which are worth bearing in mind.

  4. 7 The Dirty Vegan May 26, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    Hi Vikki,

    Great post! The writing is great and pictures are beautiful. This recipe sounds very tasty and can be easily made vegan by swapping out the butter for Earth Balance and the cheddar for Daiya cheese. For the stock cubes, I don’t purchase or promote Knorr, although their vegetable flavor is veg-friendly, because Knorr is owned by Unilever which tests on animals. May I suggest a really good alternative? Edward & Sons makes excellent bouillon in all different flavors and the ingredients are natural – very yummy! Thanks for sharing your website with me, nice job and Happy National Vegetarian Week to you.

    Cheers!
    The Dirty Vegan

    • 8 Vikki Littlemore May 26, 2011 at 1:16 pm

      Hi.

      Thank you so much for your lovely comments, and taking the time to read the blog, I really appreciate it.

      Very good tips about making it Vegan-friendly, hopefully anyone reading this and wanting to make it vegan will find your suggestions very helpful, I’ll try and put them somewhere more prominent, perhaps in the actual blog post, if that’s okay?

      As for Knorr, I didn’t know anything about that. Thanks for the information. I certainly won’t be using their products again, now that I know, and I’ll look out for Edward & Sons.

      Thanks again, the input means a great deal.

      Best Wishes,
      Vikki.

  5. 9 Vikki Littlemore May 26, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    One idea, for the vegans, is to use Olive Oil (or any vegetable oil, actually) instead of the butter. I often do this anyway, I just chose to use butter on this occasion. Oil works just as well. Hope this helps.

  6. 10 myvegancookbook May 26, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    Looks good and I applaud your efforts, however I would ditch the cheese. I just recently posted a cheezey orzo dish on my site, might want to check it out. http://www.myvegancookbook.com/recipes/recipe.php?id=99

    Not sure why you are vegetarian but for the animals sake and your health getting rid of dairy is key to both.

    • 11 Vikki Littlemore May 26, 2011 at 8:06 pm

      Thank you very much for the comment, I’ll check out your blog, and the recipe you recommended.

      I have thought long and hard about giving up dairy, but my opposition is towards the mistreatment and slaughter of animals. Provided that all dairy products are free-range, from local farms, and no cruelty is involved, then at the moment, this is where I draw my line.

  7. 12 guns n roses las vegas residency 2014 June 25, 2014 at 6:47 am

    In a report from at least in private practice therapy guns and roses that often results in greater knowing of oneself in the morning, our ability to calculate.
    In fact, several high-profile gun-toting mass-murderers were people who
    don’t think you should seek the help of technology. That kind of,
    Mindfulness Therapy via Skype.


Leave a comment




Goodreads – What I’m Reading

Follow me on TWITTER

Sylvia Plath said; "Let me live, love and say it well in good sentences". My aim in life is to find things and people to love, so that I can write about them. Putting words together is the only thing I can see myself doing. This blog is an outlet, and I hope you enjoy reading it. Please feel free to comment on posts, or contact me by the special e-mail I've set up (vikki.littlemore@live.co.uk) with your thoughts.


Follow me on Twitter

The New Remorse, Oscar Wilde.

The sin was mine; I did not understand.
So now is music prisoned in her cave,
Save where some ebbing desultory wave
Frets with its restless whirls this meagre strand.
And in the withered hollow of this land
Hath Summer dug herself so deep a grave,
That hardly can the leaden willow crave
One silver blossom from keen Winter's hand.

But who is this who cometh by the shore?
(Nay, love, look up and wonder!) Who is this
Who cometh in dyed garments from the South?
It is thy new-found Lord, and he shall kiss
The yet unravished roses of thy mouth,
And I shall weep and worship, as before.

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 596 other subscribers

Follow me on TWITTER

Music I Love (In no particular order, except that The Smiths are first)

The Smiths,
The Libertines,
The Courteeners,
Nina Simone,
Oasis,
Pete Doherty,
Gossip,
The Kills,
Amy Winehouse,
Arctic Monkeys,
Rod Stewart,
The Doors,
The Rolling Stones,
Etta James,
Babyshambles,
T. Rex,
The Jam,
Morrissey,
Guillemots,
The Kinks,
Jack White,
The Deadweather,
David Bowie,
The Winchesters,
The Cure,
Kaiser Chiefs,
The Kooks,
The Twang,
Kings Of Leon,
Pulp,
Blur,
The Housemartins,
The Ramones,
James,
Robots in Disguise,
The Klaxons,
Kate Nash,
The Raconteurs,
Regina Spektor,
Aretha Franklin,
Stereophonics,
The Contours,
Dirty Pretty Things,
The White Stripes,
New York Dolls,
Yeah Yeah Yeahs,
The Clash,
Style Council,
Velvet Underground,
The Horrors,
The Cribs,
Reverend and The Makers,
The Subways,
The Wombats,
Foals,
Elle S'appelle,
The Troggs,
The Beatles,
Echo and the Bunnymen,
Florence and the Machine.

Olive Cotton, Tea Cup Ballet, 1935

Olive Cotton, Tea Cup Ballet, 1935

Click to follow this blog on Bloglovin

bloglovin

Will it ever be alright for Blighty to have a Queen Camilla?

One less tree from our window each day


Vikki's bookshelf: read

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone
1984
Twilight
Of Mice and Men
Pride and Prejudice
The Hobbit
The Da Vinci Code
Lolita
Tipping the Velvet
Wuthering Heights
The Picture of Dorian Grey and Other Works by Oscar Wilde
Bridget Jones's Diary and Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason
Irish Peacock & Scarlet Marquess: The Real Trial of Oscar Wilde
The Peculiar Memories of Thomas Penman
Moab Is My Washpot
The Bell Jar
The Other Boleyn Girl
On the Road
Brideshead Revisited
Revolutionary Road



Vikki Littlemore's favorite books »

Share book reviews and ratings with Vikki, and even join a book club on Goodreads.

}